Jagermeister Oatmeal Cookies & Candy Bar Red Velvet Cookies!

Sunday Bakery this week was a two-fer. As in, I made 2 different kinds of cookies! What can I say; I like a little variety in my snacking. Or maybe I had some redic craving leading up to today’s baking extravaganza.
 
I actually started prepping the Jager Oatmeal cookies on Saturday morning by measuring out the raisins & cranberries, then pouring Jager over them until they were drowning in it. Then I covered the container & let them soak for a few hours (or 6), until I made the cookie dough. Drain the Jager from the raisins & cranberries before you add it to the dough. You can brush some of the leftover on the cookies about 2 minutes before they finish baking. I made this dough Saturday night because I knew it had to chill for an hour… so I didn’t think making it the night before would be a big deal.
The flavor from the Jagermeister isn’t too strong. It’s barely noticeable, but (IMO) in a good way. You can tell that these aren’t regular oatmeal cookies, but the Jager flavor isn’t punching you in the face. Know what I mean?
The recipe was adapted from one on AllRecipes. CLICK HERE to check out my version.
 
Hubs LOVES Red Velvet cake. For everyday eating it’s too rich for me. But sometimes… a girl just wants some rich chocolaty goodness. And sometimes, a girl just wants that chocolate flavor in an awesome red cookie filled with chunks of her favorite candy bars. And some chocolate chips. Because that’s how I roll.
I’ve been dying to try red velvet cookies for a while. I had a few issues though… I really like chewy cookies better than crunchy or cakey cookies, and I really wanted to make them from scratch!
I slightly adapted my cookie dough recipe from one I saw on Unpampered Chef & How Sweet It Is. They use the same recipe… and I’m not sure who get the “credit”. I froze the candy bars after I cut them up, while I was getting the rest of the dough together. It was a little sticky at first, and kind of hard to manage. I ended up chilling it for an hour and that helped! Keep it in the fridge between batches.
Check out MY RECIPE!
 
I strongly urge you to go make either of these cookies right now. 😉
 
Happy Sunday Bakery!!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment