Overly Complicated Chambord Black & White Bars

Do you ever have an idea for something but by the time you actually make it, it’s so complicated (and it shouldn’t be) that you know you need to redo it?! That happened to me yesterday when I made some Chambord Black & White Bars. They ended up being overly complicated, and (while still tasty) not worth the effort.
 
I baked each layer of the bar separate, then made a whipped white chocolate ganache for the middle (to hold the layers together). Sadly… when I tried to “flip” the brownie layer on top of the blondie layer it fell apart! I guess that’s what happens when you bake a fudgey brownie in a 11X15 jelly roll pan instead of a 9X13 pan like you’re supposed to! Then, after I put the brownie layer back together (sorta), I had to cover up the ugliness so I made a chocolate ganache to go on top. The chocolate ganache on top was too much. I used semi-sweet chocolate, and it overpowered the raspberry flavor from the Chambord.
Oh, and I should mention that I only have one jelly roll pan so I had to wait for both layers to cool completely before I could take them out of the pan.  I also had to chill the white chocolate ganache before I could whip it. Talk about time consuming…
 
Next time I’m going to make the brownie & blondie batter at the same time, and (possibly) swirl them together before baking. I’ll also leave out one of the ganache flavors (or maybe marble them together). If I end up using the chocolate ganache I’ll most likely switch to milk chocolate.
 
So, I guess it’s back to the drawing (or cutting) board!
 
Happy Baking!!
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , ,