Guinness & Choc Covered Pretzel Cupcakes w/ Caramel Buttercream

 
I won’t lie… when I drink beer I craaaave salty things. So what could be better than beer cupcakes with pretzels baked right in?! Add caramel. BAM!

My original plan for these was to make chocolate stout and pretzel cupcakes. But I was too lazy to go out and find chocolate stout. Then I remembered that I had a bottle of Guinness and a wonderful beer cake recipe! Tah-Dah! I thought about making these with a chocolate cake, but I wasn’t really in the mood for it this week. Gasp! Weird, right? Anyways…
 
The cake batter is delish. But not very Guinnessey. That seems to be a “normal” problem when I bake with beer though. The beer flavor doesn’t come out very strong. I’m not sure why… I’ll bet it has something to do with chemistry or some shmarmy gastronomical stuff. 😉
As for the buttercream… weeeell… it’s a recipe that I’ve made before, but for some reason it didn’t come out as good as usual. It looks kind of like it’s separating, and it’s not as fluffy as I expected. Normally, when I use “caramel”, I use the Smucker’s brand that comes in a jar. I think it’s called “caramel sauce”. This time I used “caramel sundae syrup” in a squeeze bottle. It has def got a different texture/ consistency. I also made the effort to reduce the rest of the bottle of Guinness to use in this buttercream… it wasn’t really worth it. I’ll probably use a tablespoon of (not-reduced) Guinness if I make this again. The buttercream flavor is ok, but overall the frosting needs another try.
 
These cupcakes are fun, but I think they could use a few tweeks. Back to the oven I go. See my recipe here.
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

