Boozy Homemade Hostess Cupcakes

Whelp… I feel like I’ve been slacking a little bit on my posting. I’ve been pretty busy and super preoccupied. Hubs and I starting house shopping last weekend, and we ending up going to a bunch of open houses on Sunday. I’m sooo very excited about finding our new home… and even more excited about NOT renting an apartment anymore! Then this past weekend we drove the 7 hours to VA so I could run in my first 5k race (ever!), and so he could golf in a tournament with his dad, not to mention how badly we missed all our Southern friends. We didn’t get back to PA til pretty late in the afternoon yesterday… I was too tired to bake!
 
Because all our friends in VA have been really excited about all the baking… I made these Boozy Homemade Hostess Cupcakes Wednesday night and took them down to VA on Thursday.
They got demolished… so I assumed they tasted pretty good! Atleast…no one complained. I enjoyed the one Hubs shared with me. I haven’t had a Hostess cupcake since I was a little kid, so I’m going on hearsay when I tell you these taste like Hostess cupcakes with (of course) a small hint of boozy goodness.
 
I adapted the recipe from the blog With Sprinkles On Top. I kept the cake batter the same, subbed vodka for the heavy cream, and used my favorite chocolate ganache. I used store-bought cake icing to make the white loops. When I say store-bought I mean the kind that comes in a can with the nozzle on it.  I think Wilton makes the one I bought at the grocery store…
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment