Piñata Cupcakes that didn’t come out (exactly) like I wanted…

So… last weekend was Cinco De Mayo. I used to spend this particular “holiday” in a bar. Not drinking, but working. Slinging Corona and Margaritas to people who really just wanted an excuse to get drunk. Not that I’m complaining (too much), because it was (usually) good money…
This year because I’m not working at a bar, and because I wanted to try something new I decided to make piñata cupcakes for Sunday Bakery. Which, BTW, ended up being on Monday (the day AFTER Cinco), because we went to a TON of open houses. I was going to make an updated Margarita cupcake, but I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to put a recipe together.
 
Now, these little guys didn’t come out how I wanted them too. I envisioned them with perfect piñata-like layers of color, and adorable stripes on top. I got the stripes right, but the actual cupcake layers… not so much. I didn’t post the recipe for that reason. These look more tye-dye than anything. I think it was because I used a thin cake batter, instead of a fluffy, thicker one. I separated the batter into 5 equal amounts then used gel food color. I pour small amounts into each muffin tin… so, basically I’m not really sure what went “wrong”.
 
The best part of these cupcakes was the “filling”. I combined ½ cup Rainbow Nerds, ½ mini Chewy Sweet-Tarts, and 3 tubes mini M&Ms together with some plain vanilla buttercream. Cut out a hole in the middle of your cupcakes with a paring knife or a cupcake corer, and then put those pieces to the side (so you can cover the filling). Stuff the candy mixture into the cupcake and put the tops back on. I won’t even lie, I had a bunch of the filling left over… and it’s been topping my fro yo all week. Store it in the fridge and you can do the same.
 
As for the frosting… I made a regular buttercream, divided it into 5 portions, dyed it, put it in pastry bags, then used the flat (back)side of a basket weave tip (Wilton #43) to put the piñata colored stripes down.
 
Honestly, if I ever make these again I’ll probably make them using box cake mix and canned frosting. It was a pain in the butt to make everything from scratch than dye it…
 
Happy Baking.
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

