Tagalong & Thin Mint Stuffed Chocolate Cookies AND PB Cookies

If you know me at all (or read last week’s baking post) you’d know that I loooove mint & chocolate, and peanut butter & chocolate. I also may have confessed my unholy love of Thin Mints… and admitted that there are a “few” boxes of cookies stashed in my apt.
That being said… I also had 2 boxes of Tagalong cookies that I bought for Hubs before he went on his “diet”. One box went into these chocolate cookies… another got stuffed into some peanut butter cookies (more on those later).
I knew I wanted to stuff these GS cookies into actual cookie, but I couldn’t settle on what dough to use. There are so many options… sugar cookies, chocolate chip cookies, fluffy pillow cookies, cakey cookies… you get the idea. I figured I should go with chocolate (fav flavor combos, duh). This dough recipe came from the blog With Sprinkles On Top, she stuffed it with OREOs! Um… delish.
I accidentally whisked ALL the dry ingredients together (including the sugar). Ooops. I wasn’t sure what to do, and I didn’t want to waste all those dry ingredients… so… I creamed the butter, the added the eggs, then the dry ingredients. At this point, I realized I forgot to add the vanilla. Oops, again. I just added it in with the melted chocolate chips.
The recipe says to divide the dough in half, then divide that into 28 or 14 balls. I did 28 because I was using a 1 ½ inch cookie scoop, and it seemed easier to put a little ball of dough on each side of the cookie, then wrap it… make sense?
The cookies still came out pretty awesome! And super yummy! Click here for my version of the recipe!
 
I also made a batch of my favorite peanut butter cookies… AND added 2 of my favorite Easter candies (Reese’s PB candy eggs, and Cadbury Mini Chocolate Eggs) to half of the dough, and stuffed Tagalong Cookies into the other cookies. Sadly, I forgot how much this dough spreads and even though the Tagalong PB cookies didn’t turn out exactly like I wanted them to, they still came out really tastey!
I halved the original peanut butter cookie recipe because I didn’t want a billion cookies!
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress.
 
PS I wrote this post yesterday but got super-duper distracted before I had a chance to post.
And I wasn’t sure I wanted to post it tonight, either… I’m from the Boston area and I never imagined that someone would want to plant explosives at the Marathon. 2 people are dead and the number of injured keeps rising. It hurts my heart to watch the footage and to hear the details on the news. I literally have no words for this tragedy, especially because it happened so close to my home.
At any rate, I wasn’t sure that it would be proper to post about food right now… but I decided it is. Baking (and writing, and running) really helps me clear my head and my heart.
So, I’d like to just take a second and send Love & Prayers to all the folks affected by what happened today in Boston. “Boston, you’re my home”.
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment