Nutella Energy Bites (No Bake!)

Nutella. If I could write poetry I would write sonnets to (or for, or about) Nutella. I just had it for the first time when I was making these Nutella Energy Bites. Where has it been all my life!? Geeeeez… I’m already thinking about how I’m going to turn all my favorite PB recipes into Nutella recipes.
 
I made these because I ran out of granola. When Hubs and I go to the gym in the AM I’m always sooo hungry right when I wake up. It’s horrible! Have you ever tried to go for a run when you’re hungry? It’s awful. So… I ran out of granola. My granola is NOT low calorie, and I really wanted something that wouldn’t (majorly) screw up my intake for the day, AKA leave enough room at the end of the day for some fro yo. 😉 These aren’t exactly low in calories, but compared to 116 calories in ¼ cup granola… the 71.5 per bite isn’t too bad!
 
I adapted this recipe from Food Doodles. Check out the “formula” she wrote for awesome energy bites. I did change it quite a bit, mostly because I don’t buy seeds… seeds are bird food. Hehehe. The next time I make these I’m going to switch out the mini chocolate chips for extra dried cranberries. The Nutella has enough of a chocolate flavor that I really don’t need the extra sweetness.
 
These Nutella Energy Bites are a little sticky, so you want to store them in the fridge. The crunch from the Rice Krispies is good too. I used quick oats because I wasn’t baking them, and (because they’re more processed) they’re softer than old-fashioned oats.
 
These bites are probably going to replace “small” handfuls of granola on those early morning gym days. Even Hubs likes them!
 
MY RECIPE HERE!
 
 Happy Making!
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Nutella Energy Bites (No Bake!)

  1. ohmygod, ive banned nutella from my house because my boyfriend will bring in SEVERAL jars at a time and we’ll pig out for weeks. Its bad. Its a problem. But this, this makes it acceptable. HAhahah Im just gonna sneak it into energy bites!

Leave a Reply

