Sausage & Corn Chowder- N2MCC4

I adapted this Sausage & Corn Chowder a smidge from Lemons For Lulu. It popped up in my blog-reader-feed-thingy last week and I *knew* I had to make it for my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge week 4! I’m so glad I did.
 
The original recipe is called “Skinny”, but at over 250 calories per cup… I just couldn’t. I’ve never made chowder before, so I’m not sure if 250 calories is a lot, but it seems like it is for 1 cup of soup? Or maybe I *think* it’s a lot because I’m a calorie-counting-crazy-lady? Who knows?
 
What I do know is… this chowder is delish. It’s totally worth the extra time I had to take to scrape burnt sausage off the pan that I left on the stove because I forgot I was cooking sausage and started putzing around on the interwebs. Ooops.
 
It’s the perfect thickness & consistency for a cold & snowy day. Next time I make this, I’m going to brown the hash browns after I cook the sausage. I’m interested in how the crispier potatoes would taste in this.
 
We also had Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits with this Sausage & Corn Chowder. Instead of rolling them out multiple times & using a round cutter I cut them into square chunks.
 
Check out the recipe for Sausage & Corn Chowder, or look at the other 2014 New 2 Me Cooking Challenge recipes.
 
Happy Making!
-Hey Waitress!!

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

