Turtle Snack Mix & Spiced Caramels

Aaaaaaallright, The original version of this is from Cravings Of A Lunatic. I changed a few things so click on the link to see her recipe!
I didn’t feel like making the caramel part, so I skipped it and added the mini Rolo’s. I stirred them in the mixture while it was still pretty warm so they would melt and get gooey. I also used a combination of milk chocolate chips and semi-sweet (that’s what I had in the pantry).
The next time I make this…I (might) make half the amount of chocolate mixture, and I’m (definitely) not going to leave it in the oven for a full hour. It didn’t seem to need to be in there that long. The corn syrup and chocolate mixture didn’t cook… the coating didn’t firm up until I let it cool for a few hours on the counter. Also, that stuff stays HOT for a long time. ;). Finally I think I’ll put it on 2 large cookie sheets so I can spread it out in a single layer, and see how that works. I didn’t get the cute pieces that the original author got. Mine broke up into bigger chunks.
This snack mix is seriously delish, I can’t stop eating it. Literally. I made this on Sunday, and every time I walk by the bowl I grab a few pieces. Maybe not EVERY time, but definitely every OTHER. Check out my version HERE!
 

I also made some spiced caramels on Sunday. I used this recipe. Just add 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice with the salt! Then, line an 8X8 pan with parchment paper, pour the mixture in and let it cool/ set in the fridge. Then cut it into 1 inch squares. I also added about ¼- ½ c of chocolate chips… but it didn’t really do much. i wouldn’t even bother. Hubs said these are good, but I think they could use more of the spice flavors, so I’ll probably add another teaspoonful if I make them again. Because I was giving these away (and the caramel is pretty soft) I wrapped them in squares of parchment paper. It only took me for-ev-er. If I wasn’t sharing them (or if I was serving them right away) I wouldn’t have wrapped them. It took too much darn effort.
 
Happy Snack Making!
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

