Homemade Butterfingers & Banana Walnut Scones

It’s possible that I’m addicted to Butterfingers. I’m pretty sure it’s my favorite candy bar. But, it’s possible I’ve said that about Snickers, or Reese’s too… don’t judge.
No matter what, I Iove me some Butterfingers. I also have a list of recipes to copycat which Butterfingers happen to be on. Of course I googled “homemade butterfingers” and got, like, a millioooooon hits. They all seemed to be the same recipe made with candy corn & peanut butter. They all claimed to have the taste right, but were lacking in the crunchy part (that I love). I was planning on adding crushed up unsalted chips to give it the right texture. But then an amazing thing happened! This post  from Erica’s Sweet Tooth popped up in my blog reader! Erica added Frosted Flakes! Genius! These had to happen.
Thankfully, it was only a few days after Halloween, and my aaaahmazing Hubs found a giant bag of candy corn in the discount section of the grocery. Score!
The candy corn took almost 3 minutes to melt in the microwave and I actually had to add the peanut butter then nuke it for another 15 seconds. Getting this stuff stirred is definitely an arm workout (but totes worth it).
When you press the mixture into the pan, dump the whole thing out at once. Don’t do it in sections. Why? Because when you try to cut the sections, they might break into (not square) pieces. It happened to me.
I used 2 ½ bags of candy melts, and only melted half a bag at a time.
Overall these get thumbs up from my tasters. The only complaint is that they (still) don’t have that real Butterfinger texture. Also, don’t store these in the fridge… you might chip a tooth.

On Sunday, I also made these awesome Banana Walnut Scones that I (slightly) adapted from Wholesome Homemaker. I added extra chopped walnuts and didn’t measure out how much banana I had. I was skeptical of these, mostly because I don’t think whole wheat has any place in my sweets/ desserts/ snacks. Just my bagels. They’re good though.I usually overwork my scones or biscuits but not this time! They’re perfect. A little like banana bread… I think I should’ve added some chocolate chips!
 
That’s what happened  in my kitchen last weekend!
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

