Bourbon Apple Cinnamon Rolls

Have you ever REEEEEEAAAAALLY wanted to make something, and then proceed to mess it up 2x before you finally get it right? Because that happened to me when I was making these aaahmazing rolls. I’m not kidding.
 
The first time I tried these was Sunday. I forgot to add the melted butter to the dough, and didn’t realize it ‘til 30 minutes into the rising period. Awful. I threw it out, and made Apple Cinnamon Muffins instead.
 
The second mess up was today. I followed the original dough recipe that said “add all wet ingredients together”. Eggs are wet, right? Do you know what happens when you add eggs to warm (maybe too warm) butter/milk/water? They scramble. I gag. Awful. Tossed that and changed the recipe a smidge. Also, when I say “warm” I mean between 120-130 degrees, and you’ll want to make sure the butter isn’t any warmer than that also. Any warmer, and your yeast will die!
 
The third time is a charm apparently, because these rolls are freaking awesome! At least I think so.
 
I used 3 Empire apples. They’re smallish, sweet, and crisp. Use your favorite variety. My cheese grater has a side for slicing things so I used that to get nice thin pieces. Then I soaked the apples Sunday night (until I was ready to use them), in Wild Turkey American Honey. I may or may not have cut up and soaked an extra apple for eating. Don’t judge.
 
These rolls are very cinnamony, with a nice touch of apples & bourbon. The next time I make them I’ll probably use more apples, and skip the cinnamon in the glaze. Hubs devoured the one I gave him to test and asked for another!
 
The dough & filling recipe was adapted from this Apple Cinnamon Pull-Apart Bread.
 
If you don’t want to deal with the yeast and rising times, try using these cinnamon rolls instead… that recipe makes fewer rolls, so you won’t need as much filling, apples, or glaze.
 
CLICK HERE to see my Bourbon Apple Cinnamon Rolls.
 
All’s well that ends well.
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bourbon Apple Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Heidie Makes says:

    I love cinnamon rolls:)In Finland they are national dish.

  2. hey waitress!! says:

    Me too! If I could eat them every day I would!

Leave a Reply

