Chocolate Covered Inside Out Caramel Apples!!

I saw the original version of these on Domestic Fits, and I KNEW I had to make them.
As usual, I changed a few (small) things. I used a few Empire and a few Gala apple varieties. I got lucky at the local farm stand and I couldn’t pass up on the pretty bright red Empires. I usually go for tart varieties (Granny Smith is my fav), but these looked PERFECT!
If you notice my recipe says 6-7 apples… because I used 6 ½. I broke one when I was trying to figure out how to get the core out with a spoon. It’s not that easy. I ended up using a paring knife to get the core out, then a tablespoon to scoop the rest.
I used the caramel recipe from last week. It’s thick, and stays solid at room temp. I had a little trouble with it falling out of the slices after I cut them. To keep the caramel from getting too soft in the melted chocolate I chilled the sliced caramel apples in the fridge before dipping them.
Speaking of chocolate… I used dark chocolate candy melts on the first bunch, and milk chocolate for the rest. I thought I was only going to need the one bag of candy melts, but I ended up using that bag AND the full bag of chocolate chips. Yikes. The dipping was kind of time consuming, and the end result isn’t very pretty. I’ve never been good at making chocolate covered things look good. Sigh.
The chocolate covered inside out caramel apples where a big hit! All my tasters loved them and so did Hubs! I made these 3 days ago (Monday night) and the apples are still nice and crisp and not brown at all!
 
I also made some caramel apples with some leftover caramel. Originally, I tried to dip the apples in warm caramel, but this recipe just wasn’t designed for dipping. It ended up being kind of greasy, and just wouldn’t stick to the apples at all. So I put it back in the fridge to get nice and cool, then I floured my hands and wrapped chucks of it around each apple. Then I covered some in mini chocolate chips & crushed pretzels, 2 in Nerds, and 2 in mini M&Ms. It was fun!
 
Happy Making!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Check out my recipe.
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

