New To Me Cooking Challenge September

Week 36- Bacon & Jalapeno Cheddar Stuffed Turkey Burgers
We finally got a grill this weekend! So of course I had to make some burgers! I usually just toss a slice of cheese on top of mine, slap some mustard on it and call it done. BOOOOOORING. I know! I usually opt for turkey and not beef because it’s leaner and I don’t really like red meat all that much. However, I LOVE ground Bison! But it’s easily double the cost of beef or turkey! Yikes. So that’s why I went with the turkey.
I used the chipotle seasoned breadcrumbs and the jalapeño cheddar for Hubs because he likes spicy. They’re actually pretty perfect. They’re not spicy but there’s some action… a hint of hot.
I really like the way these came out. I can’t believe I haven’t thought about making something like them before! Geeez! Hubs is excited ‘cause he wants to try some with mushrooms, Swiss, and onions. I’m not sure those will ever happen… I have an intense dislike for mushrooms. Like, really intense. *shudder*
Anyway… def thumbs up from both of us. This might be the only way I make burgers ever again.
 
Week 37- Skillet Steak Enchiladas
This recipe was adapted from Add A Pinch. Go here for the original.
There isn’t much to say about it because it came out so darn good! I literally didn’t have one single problem making this. Except for the enchilada sauce… even the “medium” flavor from Chi-Chi’s was too hot for me! But, I AM a huge baby when it comes to spicy. I just don’t deal w/ it well. Hubs said the flavor was perfect. Personally… I think I’ll try the “mild” flavor next time.
NOTE: I weigh ingredients instead of using “cups” because it’s more accurate when I’m trying to figure out calorie counts. I also use low-fat/ reduced-fat/ low-calorie options when I can. AND I’ve been buying blocks of cheese instead of the preshredded kind (it has a few less preservatives)… no big deal, but it will probably affect your calorie count if that kind of thing matters to you.
 
Week 38- an awful attempt at BBQ Mac N Cheese
Lets just say… it didn’t happen. Well… it happened but it was horrible. I don’t even want to talk about how horrible. I’m not even going to tell you more than that.
 
Week 39- Spicy Chicken & Broccoli Alfredo
Ok… you’ve probably noticed by now that I like chicken. And broccoli. And pasta. I’m not sorry. 😉 I’m doubly not sorry that I made this recipe for dinner. It’s awesoooooome. I slightly adapted the recipe from Flour On My Face… just a smidge. I like that she used milk instead of cream, and I reduced the calories a smidge more by using 2% milk instead of whole milk. It’s been a really long time since I’ve been able to eat Alfredo sauce (darn calorie counting), and this sauce didn’t disappoint me at all, it’s a billion times tastier than the store bought kind!
I didn’t have any problems making the sauce; it went off without a hitch! I (smartly) had everything measured out ahead of time (for once). I will admit that my arm started to get tired from the constant whisking though. I guess I’ll just chalk that up to building up my arm muscles. Haha!
The next time I make this I’ll cut the recipe in half… there’s only 2 of us after all. I might try it with plain chicken, and use taco seasoning in the sauce.
 
That finishes up My New 2 Me Cooking Challenge for September!
 
Happy Making!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

