Dark Chocolate & Cayenne Cupcakes, with a smidge of Bailey’s!!

I have no idea why it took me so long to make these cupcakes! They’ve been on my “To Bake” list for months! Honestly… it’s probably because I never thought cayenne & chocolate would go together. But apparently it’s actually a real thing, and pretty common! My internet browsing brought up a ton of different recipes for that combination! There was even a few hot chocolate recipes!
 
So… I used the ingredient list from bitchin’ kitchin, but modified the way I put them together (a little bit). I had just enough batter to make 24 cupcakes, but it was cutting it real close. It has a great texture, and is really moist.
 
The buttercream is adapted from my standard recipe.
 
Overall I was really surprised by how well these came out. They might be my favorite. Seriously. I thought they would be too “spicy”, but they’re not. The cayenne is almost an aftertaste. It starts off with a really great chocolate flavor, and by the time you’re done with the cupcake, there’s just a hint of spicy from the cayenne. It’s pretty freaking awesome. Not that I’m bragging or anything.
 
You should go make these. Right. Now. Click here to see my recipe!
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate & Cayenne Cupcakes, with a smidge of Bailey’s!!

  1. forkandbowl says:

    Yum! These look divine. Chocolate goes so well with spices – cardamom is great too!

  2. ellyvegas1 says:

    These look amazing! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Miranda says:

    I love this combination and these look scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

