Jager Bomb Whoopie Pies!!

Jager Bombs where one of the shooters I served the most when I worked at the bar. I’m not sure why… jittery and drunk never seemed like a good combination to me. And I don’t particularly like the way Red Bull tastes.
BUT the cupcake version of this recipe is the most viewed post on my little blog, so I figured it was time to try another Jager Bomb recipe.
Do you ever bake something and think it’s a disaster, but it ends up… well… not? ‘Cause that’s what happened with these Jager Bomb Whoopie Pies.
 
I had a heck of a time with these things. Firstly… I didn’t grease AND flour the first round well enough, and some of the cakes stuck to the tins a little bit. Not bad enough to ruin them, but enough to make them look messed up. I solved that problem by just putting the filling on the “ugly” sides!
 
The cake portion was from a recipe in the Boozy Baker cookbook. If you like baking & booze, you should buy it! I use it a lot. I adapted the Jager Honey Bunt cake recipe. It’s feaking delish. I should have realized when I was making it that this recipe is like (what I think of as a) Spice Cake. It’s got warm flavors. Does that make sense? At any rate I can’t wait ‘til the Christmas season so I can make mini Bundt cakes for my Christmas gifts.
 
I adapted the filling recipe from a combination of the Wilton Whoopie Pie Filling recipe & my Red Bull Buttercream recipe. It worked out really well. This recipe made juuuuuust enough for all the pies. I used about a ½ tablespoon for each mini & 1 ½ tablespoons for each regular sized pie. I did have a little problem with it being too warm. My house was around 70-72 degrees, and it was a smidge too warm for the filling. I couldn’t get it to stay put on the cakes, it kept sliding off, and looking all melty. So… what I did was put some filling on top of each cake, then put them in the fridge for a few hours, THEN squished the sides together. I also kept them in the fridge before Hubs brought them to my tasters.
 
I had to keep reminding myself that Whoopie Pies aren’t supposed to be pretty. They’re supposed to be messy and junk. Overall they came out better than I thought. Hubs asked me to keep some for him, and my tasters didn’t complain. So I guess that’s a win.
 
Happy Baking.
-Hey Waitess!!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

