Margarita Cupcakes II!!

(Tequila & lime cupcakes brushed with tequila, Grand Marnier, and lime juice, then topped with a tequila/ GM/ lime juice buttercream)
 
I’ve been thinking about making Margarita Cupcakes all summer.
The thing is… I’m don’t really like tequila. It makes me hot. And angry. And mean. Despite that fact, every once in a while I just want a Margarita. I thought these cupcakes might be a good substitute.
 
When I started looking for recipes for this cupcake, the only ones I could find used box mix & margarita mix. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I’ve done that 2x already! I went back through all my bookmarked recipes, and realized that I could substitute the Margarita ingredients for some of the ingredients in this Strawberry Mimosa Cupcake from OhMyVeggies! It worked! However… do you know how long it takes to zest 4 limes? FOREVER. Unless you use a cheese grater, like I did.
 
I adapted the frosting from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.
 
I used Jose Cuervo Gold Tequila. I’m not sure if higher quality tequila would make a difference or not…
 
Hubs says overall the cupcakes are too “limey” and the booze flavors get lost. The next time I make these I’ll probably use LESS lime zest in the batter, maybe just 3. I think I’ll also use less lime juice in the frosting and more booze. Maybe ½ lime and 1 ½ tablespoons each of tequila & GM?
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
RECIPE HERE.
 
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Margarita Cupcakes II!!

Leave a Reply

