The Elvis Cupcakes!!

(Chocolate chip banana cake topped with peanut butter buttercream and garnished with chocolate covered bacon.)
 
Oh. My. Gaaaaawd. I think these Elvis inspired cupcakes might just be my new favorite thing to eat. It could be because they’re topped with peanut butter buttercream. Or maybe it’s because chocolate covered bacon is aaah-maaaa-zing. Even the banana cake is delish! Oh, I’m hoping I don’t have to explain why I called these The Elvis Cupcake, do I?
 
I adapted the cake recipe from a combination of ones off AllRecipes. I really wanted a “cakey” recipe as opposed to a bread type. This version really hit the trick. I used 3 medium sized brown bananas and it came out to about a “heaping” cupful.
 
The peanut butter buttercream is a standard buttercream that’s probably all over the internet. No matter, it’s freaking awesome. But… I do love peanut butter. If you don’t count the frosting I had to “taste test”, it made just enough frosting for these cupcakes. If you do count it… there’s PLENTY of frosting to top off 22 cupcakes.
 
I didn’t include the bacon garnish in the recipe because, after all, it’s just thick cut bacon that I cooked and cooled, then dipped in melted semi-sweet chocolate. Let it set on a cookie sheet in the fridge for about 15minutes to harden. Then put it on top of your frosted cupcake. And eat one. Then try to avoid eating the whole batch. It’s tough. I know.
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Elvis Cupcakes!!

  1. lnkb10 says:

    Oh….my…..gosh…..these look AMAZING!!!! I wish i could reach through my screen and eat one!!!!

Leave a Reply

