Cinnamon Buns for Easter Breakfast

When I was growing up, we had a major Holiday (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, etc…) Tradition of making a big breakfast. Bacon, eggs, cinnamon buns, toast, hot chocolate, OJ… all made it on to our plates. It’s one of my favorite things about holidays. I really LOVE breakfast food. And Cinnamon buns are (pretty much) my favorite breakfast food, right after pancakes. I’ve always bought the Pillsbury ones in a can… but not this time! This time I was determined to make my own. I was original going to do a different version, but it had yeast and multiple rising times. Not gunna happen (I spent all day yesterday making Perogies for the first time in my life), so I opted for a quicker version from In Jennies Kitchen. I first saw a version on Lemons for Lulu, who adapted it from Iowa Girl Eats, who adapted it from In Jennies Kitchen!
 
It’s pretty simple, once you get the hang of it. It took me 2 tries to roll the first half of the dough out close to the right size/ shape. Before you start rolling, shape it into a rectangle! Duh, right!?
I also had a bit of an interesting time rolling the dough around the filling… the first batch was kind of loose, and the second kind of tight. It didn’t really make a difference, except how they looked. I gently squished each roll down to flatten them a little, in hopes that they would look more alike. It kind of helped.
 
You can make these the night before, and just bake them in the morning while you’re making bacon & eggs! I did. Although… I had this in a glass baking dish overnight in the fridge, and changed them into a regular baking pan in the morning. I wasn’t sure if it’s safe to put a cold glass dish in a hot oven, and that one is my favorite piece of Pyrex! I would definatly NOT skip the parchment paper & grease… the melted brown sugar is super sticky.
 
I’m thinking that the next time I make these I’m going to roll the short sides, and make 8 big buns instead of 16 average sized ones. And I also think I’ll use some liquor in the frosting (Bailey’s, Kahlua, maybe Grand Marnier)…
 
Happy Easter, and Happy Sunday Bakery!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
PS. Do you call these Cinnamon Buns or Cinnamon Rolls? I guess technically they’re rolls because I rolled them…

Click HERE for my recipe!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

