Homemade Marshmallow Bunnies & Chicks, and Other Easter Treats

Marshmallow Bunnies & Chicks
(adapted from Miss CandiQuik)
I love marshmallows. I mean, I LOOOOOOVE them. I’ve been wanting to try to make my own since the beginning of the winter (hello marshmallow hot chocolate). Because I finally bought a candy thermometer AND that next weekend is Easter (and I also recently bought some really cute Easter themed cookie cutters), I decided that this weekend would be the time to try it!
 
The recipe has a lot of steps, but it’s not too complicated.
 
Atleast it wouldn’t be complicated if you used the right sized sauce pan. Do you have any idea what burned corn syrup/ sugar smells like? Nasty. That’s what. My small sauce pan was (apparently) too small. The mixture started to boil, reached about 200 degrees F, then proceeded to boil out of my small sauce pan and burn onto my stove top. Oops. In a moment of pure panic I grabbed another (larger) sauce pan, poured the wicked hot mixture into it, and set it on a different burner on med-high heat. It obviously took a bit longer to heat back up (about 6 more minutes), and I only got the temp up to 230 degrees F. It still worked, so I’m not complaining!
 
The original recipe said to whip the combined mixtures for 12-15 minutes, mine was fluffy after about 8, so I added the vanilla and kept whipping for 2 more minutes just to make sure.
I used a sifter to get a nice even coating of corn starch/ powdered sugar in the bottom of the prepared 9×13 pan before I spread the marshmallow mixture in it, then sifted some more on top after I got it in the pan. Also… try not to eat all the marshmallow. I had some trouble with this because it tastes just like FLUFF at this point in the process.
 
I made Bunnies & Chicks, but you could just cut the marshmallow into squares (after it sits overnight, or for 4 hours). Dip the cookie cutters, or your knife into the leftover corn starch/ powdered sugar to keep it from sticking to the marshmallow.
 
I saved the scraps (I HATE wasting stuff), and cut them into tiny pieces to make bite sized marshmallows.
 
Click here for the Homemade Marshmallow Recipe!
 
Other Easter Goodies
I also made a bunch of other stuff this weekend with the intention of making things that Hubs could take to work for folks to share with their families. IE I didn’t use ANY booze this weekend.
First was the super duper cute Cadbury Egg Chicks (inspired by A Mummy Too). I followed her directions, with the exception of the beaks. I cut a yellow candy melt in half, “glued” the flat sides together with melted candy melt, then cut those in half. That made 2 quarters “glued” together, then “glued” onto the Cadbury Egg. I didn’t include tails on mine, and I used candy eyeballs (made by Wilton, bought at Michael’s craft store).
 
Next was M&M (egg-shaped) Rice Krispie Treats. Check out Will Cook For Smiles for the recipe & directions. I couldn’t get my M&M’s to stick to the sides of my eggs, so I just left them off. I wish mine would have come out as cute as hers! Cut the scraps into small squares (try not to eat them all), and save for what’s coming next.
 
Bunny Bark ( 2 ways)! Because I needed an excuse to buy my favorite Easter candy. Right? Yes. CONFESSION: I love, love, love Starburst Jellybeans and Mini Cadbury Chocolate Eggs. Like, really LOVE them both.
I used a large bag of white chocolate chips…
For the first kind of Bunny Bark, I melted half of the white chocolate chips, and poured in onto a 9×13 cookie sheet (covered with parchment paper). Then I sprinkled some Starburst Jellybeans (3/4 cup maybe), some of the homemade mini marshmallows, and some of the left over Rice Krispie Treat pieces on top. Then I drizzled some melted dark chocolate over it.
For the 2nd kind… I cut 1 cup of mini (bite sized) Oreos in half, sprinkled them on a piece of parchment paper (on a 9×13 baking sheet), covered those in melted white chocolate, then dropped some Reese’s PB Eggs, Mini Cadbury Chocolate Eggs, and some Easter Pretzel M&M’s on top… then drizzled some dark chocolate over the top.
Allow the bark to chill for 45minutes in the fridge before you break it into smaller pieces.
 
 
Have a great Easter!
Happy Making (or Baking)!
-Hey Waitress!!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

