Conversation Heart “Petit Fours” & Pink Rice Krispie Hearts

Happy VD! Eeeer, I mean Happy Valentine’s Day!
 
Now that that’s out of the way… I don’t particularly like V-day. It’s fake holiday. And silly. The only time I actually enjoyed it was when I was a little kid, and EVERYONE got & gave those little cards, and you got to have a party in school…
But now I use it as an excuse to bake. And Bake. AND BAKE.
 
This year, I wanted to try something “fun”.  And I’ve seen these ALL OVER the blogs! My version of Conversation Hearts weren’t much fun. It ended up being kind of complicated, and I’m not really sure where to start.
I know I needed a dense or smaller crumbed cake to hold up to the cutting and the poured icing… so I looked online at sponge cakes, pound cakes, angle food cakes… and every recipe was just too complicated for me. I didn’t want to deal with stiff eggs, and other directions I don’t really understand. 😉 So, I ended up “doctoring” a cake mix from a recipe I found on Yahoo Answers (and forgot to bookmark).
I used a medium-sized jelly roll pan. I’m not actually sure how big it is, but it didn’t fit all my batter! Oops. Lucky for me I had 2 super adorbs heart-shaped ramekins my Nana sent me and I just used those for the extra batter. I also forgot to write down how long I baked the cake for. Sorry! I’d probably start at 20 minutes. When I was cutting the ❤ shapes out I dipped the cookie cutters in some flour to help keep the cake from sticking to them. I also found that pushing the cake out from the bottom of the cutter (gently) worked better than pushing it out from the top. It kept the tops intact and fingerprintless.
 
Then came the icing (Food Network website, Poured Fondant)… it didn’t really work out for me and I’m not sure why. I ended up adding another cup of powdered sugar to it, then had to let it sit for a while before it was thick enough that it wouldn’t run off the cakes completely. That’s why there aren’t any pix of the blue hearts… I tried those first with the original recipe… and what wasn’t absorbed pretty much ran right off the cakes. I let them sit for a few minutes, and then tried icing it again… still no good. So I added more powdered sugar, let it sit for about 5 or 10 more minutes and iced them AGAIN. It finally (kind of) worked.
After the experimenting with the blue I tried the other 3 colors, and they worked a little bit better. I guess I just had to add more powdered sugar, and then let it sit for a few minutes. And coat them 2x. let them sit for a few more minutes before you add your favorite Conversation Heart sayings. Did you know they have <3’s that say “Text Me” now!? Seriously. I don’t know if I should be disturbed or not. What ever happened to “B Mine” & “Luv U”? Geez…
 
Now that the Conversation Heart “Petit Fours” are done and assuming you didn’t eat the leftovers (like I ALMOST did)… you’re probably wondering what to do with them. I would suggest adding them to some Pink Rice Krispie Treat hearts. Yes, you read that right. Add the crumbs/ chunks of leftover Funfetti cake to some Rice Krispie Treats! Muhahahaha!
I made mine just like regular Rice Krispie Treats. EXCEPT: add a titch of red food coloring to the marshmallows to dye it pink and mix the cake chunks in with the Rice Krispies. Then flatten your mixed Krispies & marshmallow on to a cookie sheet, stick some Conversation Hearts onto the top, and flatten it out. I layered it between 2 sheets of parchment paper and flattened it with a rolling pin!  Finally let it cool, then cut out your heart shapes! Tah-Dah!
 
At this point I have a confession. I ate the leftover Rice Krispie Treat pieces. All of them. And I’m only a little ashamed.
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
PS. I didn’t give serving sizes ‘cuz it’ll depend on what size cookie cutter you use! Duh.
 
Conversation Heart “Petit Fours” Recipe here!
Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

