Cookies & Cream Cupcakes II

January has been my month to “tweak” some of my favorite recipes. This week I picked these Cookies & Cream Cupcakes. I used boxed mix in the original version, but this time I really wanted to make it “homemade”. (Blog Post Here)
 
When I made these the first time, I layered the crushed Oreo’s in the bottom, this time I stirred them into the batter… I wanted cookies in EVERY bite!
 
Instead of using the mini Oreos in the frosting I saved 10 (ok, ok, it was 9 because I ate one) of the Double Stuf cookies for the frosting.
 
I also used a bit of milk, and less vodka in the frosting… it tastes great with all vodka (and no milk) if you want, but I think the milk helps make the buttercream a little fluffier. Or that could be all in my head, I’m not really sure. 😉
 
This version is definitely my favorite of the two. I like that the cake is moist, but still pretty firm. And the extra cream from the Double Stuf Oreos in the frosting is perfect.
 
Lastly… I’d like to point out how ADORBS those cupcake liners are! I love penguins! They’re made by Reynolds (like the tin foil), and they’re “no fade”. AND I found them at the grocery store! Woot!
 
Happy Baking!
 -Hey Waitress!!
 
Cookies & Cream Cupcakes II recipe
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

