Grand Marnier Scones

Lately I’ve really wanted to “branch out” and try some new stuff. Then I saw a friend update her FB status about scones from Starbucks (you know, those HUGE ones that are covered in glaze and taste like heaven), and I’ve wanted a scone ever since. I also happen to love Grand Marnier… so into my handy search engine goes “Grand Marnier scone” and up popped a plethora of recipes. I like this one by Janet from Ashley Inn in Martha’s Vineyard (it didn’t hurt that I also happen to love MV/ New England/ the Cape/ Nantucket). I did change one or two small things, and I made up my own glaze because her scones don’t have one.
 
Silly me, I forgot to take the butter out of the fridge so it was a bit hard to get my dough crumbly (it took me a little bit). I’m also still using my broken hand mixer, which only has one speed (faster than slow, slower than fast, but still not quite medium). Don’t get me started on mixers, I’ve been researching stand mixers for a month. I can’t commit to one, and I have issues spending that much money on a small appliance… But I digress.
After less than a minute of beating the wet ingredients into the dry, it got too hard to continue. So I finished mixing by hand, folding it over until all the dry ingredients were incorporated. Sadly, I over baked these a little. I put them in the oven for 14 minutes, but I’m betting 10 or 12 would be enough…
Don’t glaze them too soon after taking them out of the oven or it will melt off completely, and end up all over your cookie sheet instead of your scones! Not that it happened to me or anything. 😉
 
Now eat one. And another. I’m going back for thirds…
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
My recipe
Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

