PB Cookie Cups and Sandwiches with Kahlua Chocolate Buttercream

Last week I decided to give the rest of the month a Cookie theme! I got the idea for the Cookie Cups from a tweet a foodie friend sent out about the version found on Sarcastic Cooking. Rather it came from Jen, of Juanita’s Cocina who was guest blogging.  EEK! Confusing much? Just trying to credit all the right people. 😉 I did however use my mother’s Peanut Butter Cookie recipe, and the buttercream was adapted from Savory Sweet Life.
 
Starting with the dough… The original recipe my mom gave me said “makes 30 doz”. So I halved it. And I still came out with extra cookies, or maybe not enough buttercream. Hmmm… solution- decrease the cookie recipe by half (again), double the buttercream recipe, or eat regular peanut butter cookies (like I did)! I got about 36 “cookie cups”, and 64 cookies (24 that I made into “sandwiches”).
 
The Cookie Cups look a little brown… but I think it’s just because I use my phone to take all the pix. Or maybe they are a little brown and it’s just a  hazard of the light greasing and large amount of dough?! Once they cooled off they hold their shape pretty well, no cookie cups falling apart here!
 
The buttercream is just the right thickness that if you don’t squish the cookies together too hard the sandwiches will hold up well.
 
With the exception of breaking my cookie scoop (again), my (only) mixing bowl not being quite big enough for all the dough, and my trusty hand mixer being on her (his/ its) last leg, I had a remarkable easy Sunday. Woot.
 
Happy Baking,
-Hey Waitress!!
 
You wanna see the recipe?
Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “PB Cookie Cups and Sandwiches with Kahlua Chocolate Buttercream

Leave a Reply

