Peanut Butter Cupcakes

So, my husbands co-workers are my taste testers/ sweets eaters. He came home last week with a special request from one of the guys. Peanut butter. That was the request, no specifics, just that I use as much peanut butter as humanly possible. What is it with these people and peanut butter!? This is the third request for a peanut butter based treat (chocolate peanut butter cookies, and peanut butter cookies, check out the recipes tab). I tried, and tried, and hunted online for an exciting recipe… and ended up with…

 
A modified version of this one from All Recipes (love that site). I made my changes based on the reviews, and the fact that I refuse to use shortening. It grosses me out. Not to mention isn’t tartar sauce for fish!? I also used Half n Half because I forgot to buy whole milk, and I read that you can use Half n Half instead. It was either that or the 2%, which wouldn’t have enough fat (I think).  The peanut butter and chocolate chips were adding to make the peanut butter flavor really “pop”.  I put the Reese’s in the middle because I’m a fat kid, I love candy, and why the heck shouldn’t I? 
 
The original version of the frosting recipe is here. I totally messed with it, and probably made it more complicated than necessary. But, that’s how I roll. To start, I doubled the original recipe. 12 Reese’s chopped was approx 2/3 of a cup, but the flavor was overpowered by all the chocolate. So I added the extra peanut butter. I also used Half n Half instead of whole milk, and the remaining half bag of chocolate chips instead of baking chocolate. After I had chopped and melted the Reese’s…  it dawned on me, I should have jut used the leftover peanut butter chips! Duh.
I’m not a huge fan of this frosting. It’s REALLY, um,  heavy, or maybe thick? I couldn’t pipe it out of the bag with a #10, and  I ended up cutting the end off of a single use bag. I’m a light and fluffy buttercream kind of person, and this is definitely not light and fluffy. Maybe I need more Half n Half, or less peanut butter? Hmph. I guess I’ll have to try it again.
 
Either way, I can’t wait to find out what all my “tasters” think about ’em.
 
Happy Sunday Cupcakery!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
check out the recipe!
Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

