Milky Way Cupcakes

In total honesty… this was THE messiest cupcake I’ve ever made. EVER. Obvi, the Fluff is super sticky, and the caramel too… not to mention I’m a bit of a kitchen disaster anyway. By the time I got the nougat in the cupcakes it looked like a sticky bomb had gone off. There was chocolate and sticky Fluff everywhere. Seriously,  I found some on the side of the fridge while I was cleaning (it’s about 4 feet away from my “work surface”). Ugh.
 
I used my favorite boozy chocolate cake recipe (restlesschipotle.com). It’s my absolute favorite (even better than box mix)! It’s so moist, it made them kind of difficult to “core”. But it’s OK, I have a plan for the left over middles. Besides eating them, I mean. Geez… just call me a FattyPants. ::::Side Note- I hate the word Moist, why do we use it so often when baking!? it makes me shudder:::: In a misguided attempt to save myself from excessive dishwashing, I made a boo-boo, and added the baking powder, salt, and baking soda to the sugar instead of the flour… oops. I don’t think it really made a difference. I can’t tell.
 
What IS nougat!? I saw like a million different recipes online, and finally settled with the easiest. At first, I only made half the recipe. Then disaster struck. I didn’t realize how messy it would be. And I ran out of plastic decorating bags. I used a small Ziplock baggie, which burst. I also couldn’t get the nougat to stick in the cupcake, as it preferred to stick to my hands and the plastic baggie. Eventually, and with a ton of naughty language, I made the other half, scraped most of the mixture out of the baggie and proceeded to fill my cupcakes with a spoon. I scooped some nougat up, then moistened (dampened?) my fingers with water, squished it into the cupcakes. It worked! I imagine you’ll only need 1/2 the recipe I posted, I had some leftover.
 
The buttercream frosting was inspired by So How’s It Taste‘s caramel buttercream. Her Milky Way cupcake also looks FANTASTIC! I substituted “caramel topping” (I found it with all the ice cream toppings) for caramel candies, and Bailey’s for the milk. I also forgot the vanilla. Oops. At first I didn’t make enough for all 30 (even though it said makes enough for 36), so I doubled her recipe.  I’m not sure why it wasn’t enough… maybe because  I over-frost sometimes. Don’t judge. It’s not a fluffy buttercream, but it’s not heavy either.
 
I hate throwing stuff away, and I had a little bit of everything (cores, nougat, buttercream) left over when I made these cupcakes. So, I turned it into a layered “dessert”! Using a small plastic container, I put a layer of cupcake cores on the bottom, then a layer of nougat, and topped it off with some of the frosting. It’d probably look nice in a mason jar, or glassware (neither of which I have in my apt). TahDah! Less waste, more FatKiddery! NomNom!
 
Happy Sunday Cupcakery,
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

