Purple Haze Cupcakes

For the cupcakes I used a recipe from Sweet Tooth that was original for Blue Moon (not my favorite, but it’s OK). I didn’t use any “zest”. Mostly because I’m not sure how to “zest” a raspberry… I also made my frosting instead of using the one on there. Have I mentioned that I don’t like cream cheese frosting!? The recipe makes 24 (or 27 if you’re me) cupcakes. I baked the first 12 for the full 18min and they came out a little brown on the bottom. Not burnt, mind you, but too brown to be perfect. I had kind of a ditzy day and I got new cupcake tins, so… oops. The next batch went in for 14 minutes and came out perfect!
 
The ganache came from Lulu’s Sweet Secrets. It originally called for 45 grams of Raspberries. UGH… grams?! The grams:cup conversion on my phones was 1g=0.19c. And I was not about to measure that. I ended up using 1/2 raspberries… just because. They also suggested that you put it in the fridge for 45 minutes- 1 hour… but I’m impatient, and I didn’t copy that down in my directions. Haha, another oops. I cored them using a paring knife, and filled them using a spoon.
 
The Purple Haze & Raspberry frosting was a guess. I used the Guinness buttercream as a starting point, and figured out that to reduce beer you need to BOIL it (not simmer it forever). So I boiled, and boiled, and boiled, and finally it was reduced. As I’ve already mentioned, I’ve been particularly ditzy today, so I have no idea how long it took to boil down. I also didn’t measure how much I had ended up with. Sorry. I’d guess that it was less than 1/4 cup.  After letting that cool, I stirred it into the chopped & thawed raspberries. Everything else was normal.  I’ll most likely add a touch of blue food coloring (to make them purple), but it’s a pretty pink color. I forgot to take pictures of it… Sorry again! I also forgot to put the tops back on before I frosted them. Bummer.
 
I used frozen raspberries in the ganache and frosting because I have this weird phobia of uncleaned produce, and raspberries are wicked hard to wash. I had to have faith that the company I bought them from cleaned them well. I know… I’m weird and you’re judgemental. I topped these little guys with a raspberry & drizzled them with leftover ganache.
 
For shiz… this cupcake has got my brain juices flowing. I’m soooo pumped about all the awesome flavors I can use with this recipe! Wild Blue (blueberry), Harpoon Raspberry UFO, Sam Adams Cherry Wheat, Pete’s Wicked Strawberry Blonde… just to name a few. Basically, I think this would work with ANY fruity beer. I don’t drink beer very often, but when I do… it’s fruity, or a Hefewizen (there are like a million ways that word is spelled, and I have NO IDEA which is correct), or it’s a fruity Hefewizen. My favorite beer is Harpoon Raspberry UFO, but it’s seasonal and I can never find it. Hence the Purple Haze…
 
NomNom Lovies,
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

