Shatter, Render, The Children of Men (Reviews)

Ok. I think you need to know a few things that I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned before (and I’m too lazy to go back thru the posts and find out). When I review a book it’s 90% about how the story makes me feel. I’ll give a book a good review based solely on the fact that it made me feel ANYTHING. If a writer can get me into a story, make me love (or hate) the characters I’ll give it a good review. I don’t really care about prose or the general style of a writer, just that they give me the opportunity to become invested in the story. That being said… when I do notice a bad editing job it totally irks me. I just can’t deal with terrible formatting. It’s MUCH worse because I use a Kindle. What can’t Ebook publishers make the effort to format a book!? Ooops. I think I digress. Let’s move on…
 
Shatter & Render (Children of Man, books 1 &2), Elizabeth C. Mock… 4/5 stars each
I stumbled on Shatter when I was looking for The Children of Men on Amazon. At the time it was free so I figured “What the Hell? It’s not what I wanted… but it’s freeeeeeeee!!” I don’t usually have very high expectation when I get  free Ebooks, but Shatter one sure didn’t disappoint me. It’s a great start to a series (I think she’s writing 4). Ms. Mock has an interesting take on magic. I love how she uses the colors. I appreciate how each character is very different, with their own special “voice”. The geography is written well, and the descriptions make me feel like I could be there. The end of this story was HEARTBREAKING. I mean really, really, soul-crushingly heartbreaking.
As for Render… I really enjoyed how the series is fleshing out. Ms. Mock is really building  her characters. I’d like to point out that I’m worried about Jair is going to turn out… it seems that the author is setting him up for a major, life changing, turning point, and it makes me nervous. He’s probably my favorite character so far, and I’d hate to lose his of humor and the comic relief he provides.  Ms. Mock also seems to be setting up Eve for a big change. I can only hope she realize the error of her ways and go back. Having said that, the storylines are coming along nicely, but it’s a little predictable.
Unfortunately… the editing of both books left something to be desired.
 
The Children of Men, P.D. James… 3/5 stars
Whelp, I’m not sure how I really feel about this story. I mean, I liked it, but… I have some issues. The writing style was a bit hard for me to get used to. I think that it’s possibly because I have trouble processing the British words/ style. No offence Brits. I actually liked to movie better than the book. Ugh, that hurt (and it almost never happens). I found the characters to be kind of flat.
Other than that… I love the premise. it’s a great take on a Dystopian society. my favorite part, though, was the end. It made me wonder how Theo would handle Power. Will he keep the power? Will he end up like his cousin? The end sort of left me with more questions than answers, and I can only assume that this was intentional. Will they keep testing sperm? Will they find more “breedable” people? Is England going to repopulate? What happens to Julian now?
 
 
“We all hurt people. That’s universal. We’re all broken and those shards will cut those around us. ” -Tobias from Shatter
“Man is diminished if he lives without knowledge of his past; without hope of a future he becomes a beast.” -Carl Inglebach from Children of Men
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , , , , ,
