Red Hot Velvet Cupcakes

When I think about Valentine’s Day (or VD as I like to call it), I always want Red Hots or those little cinnamon hearts that they sell… which makes me think about Goldshlager. I loved Goldshlager the very first time I had it. There’s just something about cinnamon and gold flakes that makes my chest warm. Or that could be the liquor burn. hmmm. So, I scoured the web looking for bakeable (I know, it’s not a word) recipes that had Goldshlager. NONE! I couldn’t believe it! I was in shock! Horrified! Then, I found hints, signs of Cinnamon Red Velvet cupcakes, mentions of Goldshlager in frosting, but still no recipes…

BAM! It hit me! How hard can it be to “create” a Goldshlager Red Velvet cupcake?! Especially because I cheat. I use a pretty simple “formula”… take out water, put in liquor. At the grocery store, The Duncan Hines Red Velvet was my only option. I guess it’s not as popular here as it is in the South. There were a million boxes of chocolate and vanilla flavors, but I didn’t feel like it would be decedent enough for VD! No laughing, but I panicked a little when I opened to box, and the mix wasn’t red! The boxed mix was SUPER clumpy; it took me forever (or like 5minutes) to get it broken up.  After mixing I found the batter was thin, but RED! They also didn’t rise as much as I hoped, but maybe I didn’t fill them enough?

The buttercream was a little bit tougher for me, because browsing my recipes, they’re all slightly different. I also didn’t want the cinnamon to be overpowering, so I added the vanilla. As usual, I don’t think I used a whole pound of powdered sugar. Oh, Red Velvet purists probably aren’t happy with my use of buttercream instead of traditional cream cheese. Get over it! I’m not a big fan of cream cheese frosting.

Overall the cupcakes are very cinnamony(also, not a word). Hubs said they taste like Big Red… I think they taste like happiness.

 
Happy VD!!
-Hey Waitress!!
Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

