Amaretto Butter Cookies

This was my first “from scratch” cookie attempt. AND the first time I’ve ever made butter cookies. The only butter cookies I’ve ever even eaten are those ones that come in the blue tin, that you get around christmas (or is it easter?)… Danish Butter Cookies. So, I probably should have made something I’m comfortable with as my first from scratch cookie, huh? Hindsight is 20/20 folks. The husband says they’re good tho (of course it’s possible he’s lying to me)…
 
The real recipe I used is “Amaretto Butterballs” from allrecipes.com. The one on the Recipes Page is SLIGHTLY modified. Below are some observations/ notes.
  • I used room temp butter (unsalted), the original recipe didn’t specify unsalted/ salted, or what temperature. I’ve always used unsalted butter at room temperature to “cream” butter & sugar. *side note: when I started baking, I had to do an ehow search on “creaming butter” =)
  • the original recipe calls for 1 teaspoon of salt. I used 1/2 teaspoon, as suggested in a review. I also used 1/2 cup of almonds, instead of 3/4 cup.
  • I found this batter started out WICKED dry. Instead of adding the entire amount of flour and salt I added 1/2. Then tried to use my mixer. Bad idea, flour all over me! I ended up mixing by hand. Then I added the rest of the flour mixture, and the amaretto. Again by hand.  Honestly, I grabbed a handful at a time and squished it together ’til I couldn’t see any more flour. The flour to creamed butter ratio seemed a bit off, but I’m not sure how to fix that…
  • In the spirit of experimentation (and because the recipe didn’t tell me which to use) I greased the first cookie sheet, but not the second. It didn’t make a difference.
  • I should have paid attention when these cookies were called Butterballs… they stayed in little round balls and didn’t flatten out at all! I didn’t round out the first tray, and they looked kinda gross, so I balled up the 2nd tray. The 3rd tray I flattened out a bit, so I could call them “cookies” instead of butterballs! I used a teaspoon measuring spoon and got approx 3 dz. They don’t spread out much, so you can pack them pretty tight on the cookie sheets. 
  • I used cheap aluminum cookie sheets, and baked them for the full 10 minutes. I assume you’d use closer to 8 min with a dark/ nonstick cookie sheet…
GoodLuck! Love,
Hey Waitress!
Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

